Today was our free day in Munich. We took a train into the city and it only took about about thirty minutes. Upon arrival, we had a tour for a couple of hours which I thought was a bit boring. I understand why its nice to have a tour but overall I felt as though it dragged on way to long. Knowing myself, I wanted to explore and figure the city out on my own. However, one fun part of the tour was walking through the famous Hofbrau House. The place was packed with people and tourists from all around. Originally I thought it was only packed due to the Bayern Munich game but the German students said the place is always crowded. Throughout the day the rain came and went like it did the day before. Hopefully the weather will clear up the rest of the week. After the tour I went and got lunch with some of the other guys on the trip but as we quickly learned Munich is a very expensive city. We also learned Munich is a crowded city with hoards of people. At times it became a little hard to navigate all of the foot traffic. For most of our time a few of us walked around and checked out stores. That being said, I was able to see the English Garden. The English Garden was cool because in it there is a small river where you can actually surf due to a manmade structure put in under a bridge. Unfortunately, shortly after watching the surfers for a bit it started to rain again. Later in the evening we met up as a full group and went to dinner together. For dinner we ate at a famous Munich burger joint. The burgers in Germany taste slightly different than back home, but I didn't think they tasted bad only the meat had a bit of a different texture to it. After arriving back at the hotel, a few of us headed out to a bar called Peaches. Peaches was hilarious because we saw all the drunk FC Augsburg fans celebrating their teams win from earlier in the evening and it was interesting to say the least.
No comments:
Post a Comment